About Us

Sri Lanka Association for the Advancement of Science (SLAAS) is the premier organization of Science in Sri Lanka. The Sri Lanka Association for the Advancement of Science (SLAAS), the premier scientific body in the country was founded in 1944 and incorporated by Act of Parliament No 11 of 1966. At present, SLAAS has a membership that numbers over ten thousand, representing almost all disciplines of science.

“To promote, support and foster scientific endeavor and technological innovation in an ethical, humane and sustainable manner for the benefit of the people of Sri Lanka”

“To Be a Scientifically Advanced Nation”

Structure and Management

The Association consists of Foundation Members, Life Members, Members, Corporate Members, Associate Members, Session Members & Student Members. The Council of the SLAAS comprising 30 elected and ex-officio members acts in the name of and on behalf of the Association in all matters. There are three special Committees, eight Sectional Committees, six Statutory Committees & several other committees to carry out a wide range of activities to fulfill the objectives of the Association. All members of council and special, sectional, statutory & other committees serve in an honorary capacity.

Goals of SLAAS
  • Promotion and advancement of science
  • Systematic direction of scientific inquiry in the interest of the country
  • Dissemination of scientific knowledge and promotion of discussion
  • Encouragement of contact within the scientific community
Responsibilities of SLAAS
  1. Disseminate scientific knowledge to school children, science teachers & the general public, through carefully planned workshop, training programmes, seminars etc.
  2. Encourage young inventors to develop by presenting prizes and certificates to the best inventions.
  3. Encourage scientists to conduct research and other science based activities adhering to ethical guidelines laid down by SLAAS.
  4. Provide scientific advice to government and non governmental institutions, industries, researchers, on areas under the purview of SLAAS, to encourage use of science–based knowledge and technology for sustainable socioeconomic development of the country.
  5. Collaborate with other national bodies dealing with science and science related activities [e.g. National Science Foundation (NSF), National Science & Technology Commission (NASTEC), The National Academy of Sciences Sri Lanka (NASSL), COSTI etc.] in their activities related to science policy, science education and popularization of science.

SLAAS Sectional Committees of 2024

Section A
Medical, Dental and Veterinary Sciences

Dr. D M S Jayawardene

Section E1
Physical Sciences

Eng. Gihan Weerasekara

Section B
Agriculture and Forestry

Prof. R.M. Dharmadasa

Section E2
Chemical Sciences

Dr. R Laksiri P Weerasinghe

Section C
Engineering, Architecture and Surveying

Dr. Sameera Samarasekara

Section E3
Computer Science

Dr. Supunmali Ahangama

Section D
Life and Earth Sciences

Dr. Ureshani Karunarathna

Section F
Social Sciences

Dr. Menuka Udugama

SLAAS Committees

SLAAS Statutory Committees

House & Finance Committee (HF)
General Research Committee (GRC)
Environment Committee (EC)
Ethics Committee
Committee for the Popularization of Science (CPS)

SLAAS Special Committees

Board of Trustees (BOT)
Science and Technology Advisory Committee (STAC)
Membership Committee
Science Education Committee
Media Resources Committee